• Audio Vision 2016

    The green roof of Europe

  • Author

    Berndt Fischer

  • Location

    Füür­wehr­saal

  • time

    Friday, May 6, 2016, 19.00 - 21.00

The green roof of Europe
Forest worlds between east and west

Multivision with live commentary from Berndt Fischer

What drives many people to travel far away? Often they only look for the foreign in themselves in the external foreign. Berndt Fischer turns the tables: he looks for the strange in the familiar of his homeland. Since childhood he has encountered the border mountains that separate Bavaria and Austria from the Czech Republic, first as a hiker, then as a nature lover and finally as a photographer and author.

In prehistory, the Bohemian Forest was an almost insurmountable barrier made of primeval forests and mountain ridges, then a border between empires and kingdoms, later a border between nation states and finally the once again insurmountable Iron Curtain.

Today these mountain ranges appear at first glance to be rather modest forest mountains, but they have it all. In the former no man's land between west and east, two national parks and numerous nature reserves were created. The militarized and depopulated area became an unexpected retreat for nature: we find three different species of eagles, ponds full of blue frogs, pristine bogs and swamps, mountain streams and meandering rivers, seemingly endless forests with jungle relics, clandestine forest dwellers such as black stork, grouse, lynx and Moose.

Little has remained of the primeval mountains between the Danube and the Vltava since ancient times. Over millions of years it was removed to the dimensions of a low mountain range, but unique formations of gneiss and granite still bear witness to the drama of the earth's history.

In the multivision, the strange appearance, the wild core of this low mountain range, which appears so harmless to the outside, is made visible: here there is still the harsh winter on mountains, in which the proverbial Bohemian wind lives, and the blooming spring with its sparkling macro world of Insects, spiders and snakes, the mysterious life of the “night walkers”, the return of the large animals that crossed the border of death as border crossers.

We experience an archaic landscape full of poetic moods, in which the relics of a painful story only survived as silent witnesses.

Like no other photographer, Berndt Fischer captured life on the Green Roof in sensitive images and interwoven it with music. In his live commentary, he reports in an exciting and humorous way from past and present, from over here and over there and from the countless encounters with the animal protagonists.

Berndt Fischer

Fischer_Berndt

• Audio-Vision 2016

    Das Grüne Dach Europas

  • Autor

    Berndt Fischer

  • Ort

    Füürwehrsaal

  • Termin

    Freitag, 6. Mai 2016 19:00-21:00 Uhr

Das Grüne Dach Europas
Waldwelten zwischen Ost und West

Multivision mit Live-Kommentar von Berndt Fischer

Was treibt viele Menschen dazu, weit in die Ferne zu reisen? Oft suchen sie in der äußeren Fremde nur das Fremde in sich. Berndt Fischer dreht den Spieß um: er sucht das Fremde im Vertrauten seiner Heimat. Seit seiner Kindheit ist er dem Grenzgebirge, das Bayern und Österreich von Tschechien trennt, begegnet, zunächst als Wanderer, dann als Naturliebhaber und schließlich als Fotograf und Buchautor.

Der Böhmerwald war in der Vorgeschichte eine fast unüberwindliche Barriere aus Urwäldern und Bergkämmen, dann eine Grenze von Kaiser- und Königreichen, später eine überschreitbare Grenze von Nationalstaaten und schließlich der erneut unüberwindliche Eiserne Vorhang.

Heute erscheinen diese Höhenzüge auf den ersten Blick als eher bescheidene Waldberge, die es aber in sich haben. Im ehemaligen Niemandsland zwischen West und Ost entstanden zwei Nationalparks und zahlreiche Naturschutzgebiete. Aus dem militarisierten und entvölkerten Areal wurde ein ungeahntes Rückzugsgebiet für die Natur: wir finden drei verschiedene Adlerarten, Teiche voller blauer Frösche, unberührte Moore und Sümpfe, Bergbäche und mäandrierende Flüsse, schier endlose Wälder mit Urwaldrelikten, heimliche Waldbewohner wie Schwarzstorch, Auerhahn, Luchs und Elch.

Vom Urgebirge zwischen Donau und Moldau ist seit dem Erdaltertum nicht viel übrig geblieben. In Jahrmillionen wurde es auf die Dimensionen eines Mittelgebirges abgetragen, aber einzigartige Formationen aus Gneis und Granit zeugen heute noch von der Dramatik der Erdgeschichte.

In der Multivision wird das fremdartig Anmutende, der wilde Kern dieser nach außen hin so harmlos erscheinenden Mittelgebirgslandschaft, sichtbar gemacht: hier gibt es noch den rauen Winter auf Bergen, in denen der sprichwörtliche böhmische Wind wohnt, und den blütenreichen Frühling mit seiner funkelnden Makrowelt von Insekten, Spinnen und Schlangen, das geheimnisvolle Leben der „Nachtwandler“, die Rückkehr der Großtiere, die als Grenzgänger den Weg über die ehemalige Todesgrenze gefunden haben.

Wir erleben eine archaische Landschaft voller poetischer Stimmungen, in der die Relikte einer leidvollen Geschichte nur als stumme Zeugen überlebt haben.

Wie kaum ein anderer Fotograf hat Berndt Fischer das Leben auf dem Grünen Dach in einfühlsamen Bildern festgehalten und mit Musik verwoben. In seinem Livekommentar berichtet er auf spannende und humorvolle Art von früher und heute, von hüben und drüben und von den zahllosen Begegnungen mit den tierischen Hauptdarstellern.

Berndt Fischer

Fischer_Berndt