• Exhibition 2016

    Blue turbulence

  • Exhibitors

    Thomas Herbrich (DE)

  • Location

    Schloss

  • Guided tour

    Thursday and Sunday, 13.30

Blue turbulence

Rauch looks beautiful - but can hardly be photographed. Thomas Herbrich did it like no one before him.

Thomas Herbrich (DE)

Thomas Herbrich - portrait author_300Thomas Herbrich, born in 1955, is one of the very special photographers.

His motto is: "Surprise yourself - and your audience!"

He loves spectacular. His photos are often produced with great effort and show scenes as we know them from Hollywood films. It was not for nothing that he did the special effects for Roland Emmerich's first feature film, and he calls the great American director Stanley Kubrick “his guru”.

As a trained photographer, he did not switch to the film business because “you are just a cog in the machine”, but brought the world of film into the photo. So he has total control over the end result.

His pictures are always games with reality. He twists it, but so that it looks believable. As in the film: He wants to entertain, inspire and amaze people. Photomontage is his working principle, and he is one of the pioneers of digital image montage, which he has been doing since 1990.

Thomas Herbrich speaks very entertainingly about his work, and he does this at events for professional photography, in universities and photo schools worldwide. Now he sees his photographic future mainly on the stage. He does shows about photography, but also about cultural-historical topics, on which he sometimes works for years. “I always want to surprise and astonish people. I want people to come out of my shows with sparkling eyes. "

• Ausstellung 2016

    Blue Turbulence

  • Aussteller

    Thomas Herbrich

  • Ort

    Schloss

  • Führungen

    Do + So je 13.30 Uhr

Blue Turbulence

Rauch sieht wunderschön aus – aber ist kaum zu fotografieren. Thomas Herbrich hat es gemacht, wie noch keiner vor ihm.

Thomas Herbrich

Thomas Herbrich - Portrait Autor_300Thomas Herbrich, Jahrgang 1955, zählt zu den ganz besonderen Photographen.

Sein Motto lautet: „Überrasche Dich selbst – und Dein Publikum!“

Er liebt es spektakulär. Seine Photos sind oft mit sehr großem Aufwand produziert und zeigen Szenen, wie man sie aus Hollywoodfilmen kennt. Nicht umsonst hat er für Roland Emmerichs ersten Kinofilm die Special Effects gemacht, und den großen amerikanischen Regisseur Stanley Kubrick nennt er „seinen Guru“.

Als gelernter Photograph ist er aber nicht ins Filmgeschäft gewechselt, weil „man da nur ein Rädchen im Getriebe ist“, sondern hat die Filmwelt ins Photo geholt. So hat er die totale Kontrolle über das Endergebnis.

Seine Bilder sind immer Spiele mit der Wirklichkeit. Er verdreht sie, aber so, dass es glaubwürdig aussieht. Wie im Film: Er will die Leute unterhalten, inspirieren, und zum Staunen bringen. Die Photomontage ist sein Arbeitsprinzip, und er zählt zu den Pionieren der digitalen Bildmontage, die er seit 1990 betreibt.

Thomas Herbrich spricht sehr unterhaltsam über seine Arbeit, und das macht er weltweit auf Events für professionelle Photographie, in Universitäten und Photoschulen. Jetzt sieht er seine photographische Zukunft überwiegend auf der Bühne. Er macht Shows über Photographie, aber auch über kulturhistorische Themen, an denen er zum Teil Jahre arbeitet. „Ich will die Leute immer überraschen und zum Staunen bringen. Die Leute sollen mit glänzenden Augen aus meinen Shows kommen.“