• Exhibition 2019

    Christian Bobst, The double refugees from Shatila

  • Location

    Kirch­ge­mein­de­haus, Fireplace room

  • Guided tour

    Thursday and Sunday at 14.00 p.m.

The double refugees from Shatila

Shatila is a Palestinian refugee camp in southern Beirut. It was built for a number of approximately 3000 people after the 1949 Arab-Israeli war to house the Palestinian refugees who fled or were displaced during the 1948 Palestinian exodus. Shatila will be 2019 years old in XNUMX and is one of the oldest refugee camps in the world.

There are 12 Palestinian refugee camps in Lebanon with a total of around 500 registered refugees. Lebanon's neighboring country Syria once offered another 000 Palestinian refugees accommodation in 560 camps. Since the beginning of the Syrian civil war, more than 000 Syrian-born Palestinians have fled Syria and become so-called "double refugees". As a result, the number of refugees in Shatila rose from 13 in 110 to an estimated 000 people, who are now crammed into about one square kilometer.

Of all the neighboring countries of Syria, Lebanon has taken in the most people seeking protection in relation to its population. However, they receive neither accommodation nor food from the state. And getting a work permit is practically impossible. As a result, the refugees in Shatila live in great poverty. The camp also allegedly has one of the highest urban populations in the world and is bursting at the seams, a dark, crowded concrete maze with high crime rates and a high number of attacks on women

The refugees in the camp all share one hope: to leave this prison as soon as possible and fly to another country.

Christian Bobst

Reportage photographer Christian Bobst originally studied graphic design. For almost 15 years he worked for advertising agencies such as Wirz, Advico, Young & Rucicam and Jung von Matt in Switzerland and Germany and has received several international awards for his work. In 2010 he started his own business and started working as a freelance documentary photographer. Since then he has realized numerous photo reports and commissions in Europe, Africa, Asia, North and South America. His work has been featured in magazines, daily newspapers and online media such as Stern, The Guardian, NZZ, Die Zeit, The New York Reviews of Books, Huffington Post, LensCulture and Geo. In 2016 he won, among other things, the 2nd prize of the World Press Photo Awards in the Sport Stories category, in 2017 he was awarded the vfg Swiss Photo Award, the Photo Prize of the Canton of Solothurn and in the USA at the NPPA and the PDN Photo Annual. Christian Bobst lives in Zurich and is a member of the laif photo agency in Germany.

www.christianbobstphotography.com

Main sponsors

Sponsors

• Ausstellung 2019

    Christian Bobst, Die Doppelflüchtlinge von Shatila

  • Ort

    Kirchgemeindehaus, Cheminee-Raum

  • Führungen

    Do + So 14.00 Uhr

Die Doppelflüchtlinge von Shatila

Shatila ist ein palästinensisches Flüchtlingslager im Süden Beiruts. Es wurde für eine Anzahl  von etwa 3000 Menschen nach dem arabisch-israelischen Krieg 1949 gebaut, um die palästinensischen Flüchtlinge aufzunehmen, die während des palästinensischen Exodus 1948 geflohen sind oder vertrieben wurden. Shatila wird 2019 siebzig Jahre alt und ist eines der ältesten Flüchtlingslager der Welt.

Im Libanon gibt es 12 palästinensische Flüchtlingslager mit insgesamt rund 500’000 registrierten Flüchtlingen. Libanons Nachbarland Syrien bot einst weiteren 560’000 palästinensischen Flüchtlingen in 13 Lagern Unterkunft. Seit Beginn des syrischen Bürgerkriegs sind mehr als 110’000 in Syrien geborene Palästinenser aus Syrien geflohen und zu sogenannten “Doppelflüchtlingen” geworden. Infolgedessen stieg die Zahl der Flüchtlinge in Shatila von 10’000 im Jahr 2014 auf schätzungsweise 24’000 Menschen, die nun auf etwa einem Quadratkilometer zusammengepfercht sind.

Der Libanon hat von allen Nachbarstaaten Syriens im Verhältnis zur Bevölkerungszahl am meisten Schutzsuchende aufgenommen. Allerdings erhalten sie vom Staat weder eine Unterkunft noch Nahrungsmittel. Und eine Arbeitserlaubnis zu erhalten ist praktisch unmöglich. Infolgedessen leben die Flüchtlinge in Shatila in grosser Armut. Das Lager hat zudem angeblich eine der höchsten städtischen Bevölkerungsdichten der Welt und platzt aus allen Nähten, ein dunkles, gedrängtes Betonlabyrinth mit hohen Kriminalitätsraten und einer hohen Anzahl von Übergriffen auf Frauen

Die Flüchtlinge im Lager teilen alle nur eine Hoffnung: dieses Gefängnis so schnell wie möglich zu verlassen und in ein anderes Land fliegen zu können.

Christian Bobst

Der Reportagefotograf Christian Bobst studierte ursprünglich Graphic Design. Für fast 15 Jahre arbeitete er für Werbeagenturen wie Wirz, Advico, Young & Rucicam und Jung von Matt in der Schweiz und Deutschland und wurde mehrfach für seine Arbeit international ausgezeichnet. 2010 machte er sich selbständig und begann als freier Dokumentarfotograf zu arbeiten. Seither realisierte er zahlreiche Fotoreportagen und Aufträge in Europa, Afrika, Asien, Nord- und Südamerika. Seine Arbeiten wurden in Magazinen, Tageszeitungen und Onlinemedien wie Stern, The Guardian, NZZ, die Zeit, The New York Reviews of Books, Huffington Post, LensCulture und Geo. 2016 gewann er unter anderem den 2. Preis des World Press Photo Awards in der Kategorie Sport Stories, 2017 wurde er mit dem vfg Swiss Photo Award, dem Fotopreis des Kantons Solothurn sowie in den USA beim NPPA und im PDN Photo Annual ausgezeichnet. Christian Bobst wohnt in Zürich und ist Mitglied der Fotoagentur laif in Deutschland.

www.christianbobstphotography.com

Hauptsponsoren

Sponsoren