Science captured in pictures

The Swiss National Science Foundation has announced the winners of its competition for scientific images. The competition aims to make the work of researchers working in Switzerland visible.

The first prize in the "Research Object" category was given to a photograph showing the sole of an elephant's foot. The photo taken by Paulin Wendler, a doctoral student at the University of Zurich, convinced the jury with its "unfamiliar sight that forces us to shift down a gear" and the "fine lines that create a strong contrast to the images that we normally see make these huge and heavy, almost archaic mammals, "said a statement from the SNSF.

In the "Men and Women of Science" category, a portrait of Kaan Mika, doctoral candidate at the University of Lausanne, won which "contradicts the current representations of researchers in the laboratory".

Anika König, lecturer at the University of Lucerne, is the winner in the "Places and Tools" category with a recording from her research project on surrogate mothers in Ukraine. "The strength of the image lies in the absence of the object. It shows that the surrogate mothers are invisible in society," the jury explains its decision.

With a short sequence of medical imaging, Peter von Niederhäusern, doctoral student at the University of Basel, stages a Lego brick, which earned him the win in the "Video" category. The jury said the video "confuses and confuses our sense of direction" and "is wonderful evidence that a playful and simple film can contribute to the high level of cutting-edge research."

The jury also honored seven more of the more than 250 works submitted this year. All pictures are on the Flickr channel of the SNSF to see. More information about the competition can be found at SNSF website.

Cover photo: The balls of an Asian elephant - winner of the category: Research object
Paulin Wendler (PhD student at the University of Zurich)

0 Comments

Leave a comment

Participate in the discussion?
Leave us your comment!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

This website uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn more about how your comment data is processed.

La science capturée en images

Le Fonds national suisse de la science a annoncé les lauréats de son concours d'images scientifiques. Le concours vise à rendre visible le travail des chercheurs travaillant en Suisse.

Le premier prix de la catégorie "Objet de recherche" a été décerné à une photographie montrant la plante d'une patte d'éléphant. La photo de Paulin Wendler, doctorant à l'Université de Zurich, a convaincu le jury en raison du "spectacle inhabituel qui nous oblige à changer de vitesse" et des "lignes fines qui créent un fort contraste avec les images que nous voyons normalement rendent ces mammifères énormes et lourds, presque archaïques », indique un communiqué du FNS.

Le lauréat dans la catégorie «Les hommes et les femmes de la science» est un portrait de Kaan Mika, doctorant à l'Université de Lausanne, qui «contredit les représentations actuelles des chercheurs du laboratoire».

Anika König, maître de conférences à l'Université de Lucerne, est lauréate dans la catégorie «Lieux et outils» avec un enregistrement de son projet de recherche sur les mères porteuses en Ukraine. "La force de l'image réside dans l'absence d'objet. Elle montre que les mères porteuses sont invisibles dans la société", explique le jury.

Avec une courte séquence d'imagerie médicale, Peter von Niederhäusern, doctorant à l'Université de Bâle, a mis en scène une brique Lego, qui lui a valu le prix dans la catégorie "Vidéo". Le jury a déclaré que la vidéo "confond et confond notre sens de l'orientation" et "est une preuve merveilleuse qu'un film ludique et simple peut contribuer au haut niveau de recherche de pointe".

Le jury a également honoré sept autres des plus de 250 œuvres soumises cette année. Toutes les photos sont sur le Chaîne Flickr du FNS à voir. Pour plus d'informations sur le concours, rendez-vous sur Site Web du FNS.

Photo de couverture: Les boules d'un éléphant d'Asie - gagnant dans la catégorie: Objet de recherche
Paulin Wendler (doctorant à l'Université de Zurich)

0 Commentaires

Laisser un commentaire

Participer à la discussion?
Laissez nous votre commentaire!

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués par *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire le spam. En savoir plus sur le traitement de vos données de commentaire.