Fotoclub Ebikon: Internal competition bridged the lockdown

The Fo­to­club Ebi­kon bridged the encounterless time of Corona with an internal club competition.

The Fo­to­club Ebi­kon usually meets on the first Saturday of the month, discusses photo topics, goes on excursions and exchanges ideas about technology and image processing. Of course, these meetings were canceled during the time of Corona.

As a substitute, the photo club determined a weekly topic that the members could work on independently, reports President Marie Anne Vido. “Office material”, “abstract”, “light and shadow” and “structures” are some of the topics. Every Monday evening the club members discussed the pictures via Skype. The photo club maintained club life virtually.

Under fotoclub-ebikon.ch/themenwork the creative works can be viewed. In the Photo gallery further work of the members can be seen.

The Ebikon Photo Club also runs one every year Club competition and takes part in the Photo Münsingen club competition with good rankings.

This is just one example of how the photo clubs got creative over the time of Corona.

Cover picture: Group topic office supplies, © Judy Fang

Reading tip: The online magazine 42mm.ch

Within the Pho­to Münsin­gen is To­bi­as Kühn responsible for online communication. The specialist journalist also launched his own online magazine on photography. On 42mm.ch he writes about photography and photographers in Switzerland.

How have photographers been doing in the last few weeks? What is the significance of the new copyright law? What is it that fascinates a nude photographer about her genre? Or how does Peter Michels, the master of the wet plate, work?

With his Online magazine 42mm.ch will To­bi­as Kühn create a medium that shows Switzerland taking photographs in all its diversity, discovers pearls but also critically questions them - “regardless of brand interests, manufacturers and retailers”, as he writes on his website. The focus is not on the technology, but on the people behind the camera, their projects and their concerns.

There is therefore no advertising on 42mm.ch. The online magazine is still an affair of the heart at the moment. In the longer term, it is to be financed by a voluntary subscription amount from regular readers.

For anyone interested in photography, the free newsletter from 42mm.ch. It provides monthly updates on the latest articles, presents exhibitions and summarizes the technology news from the last 30 days.

To the online magazine 42mm.ch…

Discover photography with photography-now.com

After the lockdown, the museums and galleries open again. Time to slowly and carefully consider physical photo art again. The portal photographie-now.com continuously publishes interesting, spectacular and silent photo exhibitions in museums and galleries worldwide.

The Winterthur Photo Museum is now open and accessible again. The exhibition "Photographers at the front" shows 140 pictures between 1936 and 2011 by photojournalists and documentary photographers from the Spanish Civil War to the Second World War and the Vietnam War to the most recent conflicts.

The Swiss Photo Foundation presents a comprehensive exhibition of works by Evelyn Hofer (1922-2009). She has been named "America's Most Famous Unknown Photographer" by the New York Times. Her insights into private rooms and portraits of world-famous artists as well as her social studies are legendary. Evelyne Hofer learned the craft of photography in Switzerland, with which she maintained a close relationship throughout her life.

We have to wait a bit longer with the visits to Europe. For example a visit to the Photographic Museum Amsterdam Foam and the exhibition of Vivian Maier “Works in Color”.

But at least you can start browsing, planning and looking forward to visiting photo exhibitions. Have fun!

Patrick Rohr in an interview from Amsterdam

We like to remember Patrick Rohr's exhibition and guided tours on the subject «Japan - Away from Cherry Blossoms and Kimono» on the last one Pho­to Münsin­gen. Niklaus Messer conducted an interview with Patrick and wanted to know how he was doing, where he was experiencing the lockdown and what projects he was working on.

patrickrohr.com

Interview with Rainer Eder

ARTEXTREM is the name of Rainer Eder's exhibition, which was planned for this year in the attic. If everything goes well, it will be made up for in a year. In an interview shortly before the driveway, the sports photographer talks about the passion for climbing and the time in lockdown.

Rainer Eder was born in Austria and has lived in Switzerland for more than 20 years. He has been a professional for many years. The passionate climber is now an excellent connoisseur of the scene and works primarily with the best rock and ice climbers in the world, such as Ines Papert and David Lama.

In 2010 and 2013 he became a finalist in the Red Bull Illume photo competition; he has also been awarded the “Best Mountain Adventure Photo” at the Banff Mountain Photography Competition.

www.rainereder.com

Thomas Stöckli: Snowboard photographer

When looking for fascinating sports footage for the Pho­to Münsin­gen 2020 we came across the photos of Thomas Stöckli. 

We would have loved to show his fantastic, dynamic snowboard shots. Unfortunately, it didn't work out for various reasons. We have now received an email from Thomas. After hectic years combined with many trips, he has now used the Corona time to clean up his archive and website.

Thomas Stöckli was born in Switzerland in 1978. Snowboarding became his passion. At the age of 23 he had to end his professional career due to a knee injury. He took the opportunity to learn the craft of photography, has since traveled the world and documented the freestyle snowboarding scene under the pseudonym «Creager».

In 2014, his unique, timeless style earned him the title of “Advertising Photographer of the Year”. The aesthetic movement in sport continues to inspire him. But he also deals with meditative landscapes, portraits and still lifes. Among other things, he has been photographing the innovative shoe brand ON, a Swiss success story, since 2013.

Links

Images: © Thomas Stöckli

"National waste": The ideal way to get back to work

For almost exactly eight weeks we weren't allowed to visit any real (photo) exhibitions, we had to put up with virtual tours - which, by the way, was not all negative, as many exhibitors and gallery owners came up with some original alternatives.

Now it's time to slowly work your way back into the real exhibition world. I have a tip: «Ab­fall na­tio­nal» in the Kornhausforum Bern with photographs by Thun photographer Carolina Piasecki and photographer Peter Keller, who lives in Ticino. The exhibition is a good start again: not too big, enough space without density stress and a topic that affects us all. Every Swiss person leaves around 350 kg of municipal waste behind each year. How this waste is properly disposed of in public space - or not - the two photographers show in 40 pairs of images.

And if you don't feel ready for the real exhibition world, you can do the pictures too watch virtually.

"National waste" in the Kornhausforum Bern, May 15 to July 25, 2020

With the Olympus in Cuba

Niklaus Messer, OK member of Photo Münsingen, got to know the advantages of the handy Olympus pen in Cuba in 2011. In the weeks of the lockdown, he remembers the colorful life in Havana. And learns about new camera functions in the Olympus tutorials

The Olympus Pen was my first mirrorless camera. In the club I was ridiculed, everyone back then relied on large, heavier SLR cameras with large, heavy lenses. I was proud of the handy retro-look camera with the light but powerful lenses and the angle viewfinder. The camera accompanies me next to an SLR camera on a longer stay in Cuba. I roamed through Havana for hours, almost unnoticed to capture the colorful life of the Habaneros. Viva la vida - viva Cuba! Most of the big camera stayed in the Casa.

In the meantime I have switched to the OM ‑ DE ‑ M5. The handiness and performance have remained. I only miss the angle viewfinder for unnoticed street photography. The scoffers have also disappeared. Many colleagues have long since discovered the advantages of small mirrorless cameras.

Olympus offers various video tutorials and a virtual get-together. Ideas for home shoots are shown in a playful way. And you discover still unknown camera functions. To 'Home with Olympus' ...

And if you fancy a few Cuba snapshots ...

Wolfgang Bernauer: "My Greek village"

In his illustrated book “My Greek Village”, Wolfgang Bernauer shows impressions from the life of the Greek rural population that are hard to find today.

The book is a documentation that shows the indigenous rural population in their daily work and in social gatherings. They are portraits of people who have a lot to tell - and who tell a lot in these pictures.

"An excellent example of contemporary historical documentation with impressive portraits that have been realized with outstanding photography," writes Urs Tillmanns from fotointern.ch in his book tip.

To the book description at fotointern.ch…

Inaccessible

During the Corona crisis, the Swiss wholesalers are obliged to make inaccessible to customers all areas in which items are offered that do not serve the immediate basic supply.

Adrian Moser visited Migros Marktgasse in Bern, where most of the basement is cordoned off and cannot be entered until further notice.

At the Photo Münsingen 2019 Adrian Moser exhibited a cross section of his work as a press photographer. Born in Biel in 1966, he has been working as a professional photographer since 1994. Since 2002 he has been chief photographer and image editor for the newspaper "Der Bund", also freelance for agencies, magazines and newspapers as well as an exhibition curator and photographer trainer. He was recently with the Swiss Press Photo Award awarded in the category Daily Life.

https://www.adrianmoser.ch

Fotoclub Ebikon: la concurrence interne a surmonté le blocage

Le Fo­to­club Ebi­kon a comblé le temps sans rencontre de Corona avec une compétition de club interne.

Le Fo­to­club Ebi­kon se réunit généralement le premier samedi du mois, discute de sujets photographiques, part en excursion et échange des idées sur la technologie et le traitement d'image. Pendant le temps de Corona, ces réunions ont bien sûr été annulées.

En remplacement, le club photo a déterminé un sujet hebdomadaire sur lequel les membres pourraient travailler de manière indépendante, rapporte la présidente Marie Anne Vido. «Fournitures de bureau», «résumé», «ombre et lumière» et «structures» sont quelques-uns des thèmes abordés. Tous les lundis soir, les membres du club discutaient des photos via Skype. Le club photo a pratiquement maintenu la vie du club.

Sous fotoclub-ebikon.ch/themenwork les œuvres créatives peuvent être consultées. dans le Galerie de photos d'autres travaux des membres peuvent être vus.

Le Ebikon Photo Club en organise également un chaque année Compétition de club et participe à la compétition du club Photo Münsingen avec un bon classement.

Ce n'est qu'un exemple de la manière dont les clubs photo ont été créatifs à l'époque de Corona.

Photo de couverture: Fournitures de bureau sur le thème du groupe, © Judy Fang

Conseil de lecture: le magazine en ligne 42mm.ch

Quand Pho­to Münsin­gen est To­bi­as Kühn responsable de la communication en ligne. Le journaliste spécialiste a également lancé son propre magazine de photographie en ligne. Sur 42mm.ch il écrit sur la photographie et les photographes en Suisse.

Comment vont les photographes ces dernières semaines? Quelle est la signification de la nouvelle loi sur le droit d'auteur? Qu'est-ce qui fascine un photographe de nu dans son genre? Ou comment fonctionne Peter Michels, le maître de l'assiette humide?

Avec son Magazine en ligne 42mm.ch seront To­bi­as Kühn créer un médium qui montre la Suisse comme photographe dans toute sa diversité, découvre les perles mais les interroge aussi de manière critique - «quels que soient les intérêts de la marque, des fabricants et des revendeurs», comme il l'écrit sur son site Internet. L'accent n'est pas mis sur la technologie, mais sur les personnes derrière la caméra, leurs projets et leurs préoccupations.

Il n'y a donc pas de publicité sur 42mm.ch. Le magazine en ligne est encore une affaire de cœur pour le moment. À plus long terme, il doit être financé par un montant d'abonnement volontaire de lecteurs réguliers.

Pour toute personne intéressée par la photographie, le newsletter gratuite sur 42mm.ch. Il fournit des mises à jour mensuelles sur les derniers articles, présente des expositions et résume les nouvelles technologiques des 30 derniers jours.

Vers le magazine en ligne 42mm.ch…

Découvrez la photographie avec photography-now.com

Après le verrouillage, les musées et galeries s'ouvrent à nouveau. Il est temps d'examiner à nouveau lentement et soigneusement l'art photographique physique. Le portail photographie-maintenant.com publie en permanence des expositions de photos intéressantes, spectaculaires et silencieuses dans les musées et galeries du monde entier.

Le Winterthur Photo Museum est maintenant à nouveau ouvert et accessible. L'exposition "Photographes à l'avant" montre 140 photos entre 1936 et 2011 par des photojournalistes et des photographes documentaires de la guerre civile espagnole à la Seconde Guerre mondiale et de la guerre du Vietnam aux conflits les plus récents.

La Swiss Photo Foundation présente une exposition complète d'œuvres de Evelyn Hofer (1922-2009). Elle a été nommée "la photographe inconnue la plus célèbre d'Amérique" par le New York Times. Ses connaissances sur les salles privées et les portraits d'artistes de renommée mondiale ainsi que ses études sociales sont légendaires. Evelyne Hofer a appris le métier de la photographie en Suisse, avec lequel elle a entretenu une relation étroite tout au long de sa vie.

Nous devons attendre encore un peu avec les visites en Europe. Par exemple, une visite au Musée photographique d'Amsterdam Foam et l'exposition de Vivian Maier «travaille en couleur».

Mais au moins, vous pouvez commencer à parcourir, planifier et avoir hâte de visiter des expositions de photos. S'amuser!

Patrick Rohr dans une interview d'Amsterdam

On aime se souvenir de l'exposition et des visites guidées de Patrick Rohr sur le sujet «Japon - Loin des cerisiers en fleurs et du kimono» sur le dernier Pho­to Münsin­gen. Niklaus Messer a mené une interview avec Patrick et voulait savoir comment il allait, où il vivait le verrouillage et sur quels projets il travaillait.

patrickrohr.com

Entretien avec Rainer Eder

ARTEXTREM est le nom de l'exposition de Rainer Eder, qui était prévue dans le grenier cette année. Si tout se passe bien, il sera rattrapé dans un an. Dans l'interview peu avant l'allée, le photographe sportif parle de la passion de l'escalade et du temps passé en lock-out.

Rainer Eder est né en Autriche et vit en Suisse depuis plus de 20 ans. Il est professionnel depuis de nombreuses années. Le grimpeur passionné est désormais un excellent connaisseur de la scène et travaille principalement avec les meilleurs grimpeurs de roches et de glace du monde, comme Ines Papert et David Lama.

En 2010 et 2013, il est devenu finaliste au concours photo Red Bull Illume; il a également reçu le prix de la «Meilleure photo d'aventure en montagne» au Concours de photographie de montagne de Banff.

www.rainereder.com

Thomas Stöckli: photographe de snowboard

Lorsque vous recherchez des images sportives fascinantes pour Pho­to Münsin­gen 2020 nous sommes tombés sur les photos de Thomas Stöckli. 

Nous aurions adoré montrer ses fantastiques clichés de snowboard dynamiques. Malheureusement, cela n'a pas fonctionné pour diverses raisons. Nous avons maintenant reçu un e-mail de Thomas. Après des années mouvementées combinées à de nombreux voyages, il a maintenant utilisé le temps de Corona pour nettoyer ses archives et son site Web.

Thomas Stöckli est né en Suisse en 1978. Le snowboard est devenu sa passion. À 23 ans, il a dû mettre fin à sa carrière professionnelle en raison d'une blessure au genou. Il en a profité pour s'initier au métier de la photographie, a depuis parcouru le monde et documenté la scène du snowboard freestyle sous le pseudonyme de «Creager».

En 2014, son style unique et intemporel lui a valu le titre de «Photographe publicitaire de l'année». Le mouvement esthétique dans le sport continue de l'inspirer. Mais il s'occupe également de paysages méditatifs, de portraits et de natures mortes. Il photographie entre autres la marque de chaussures innovante ON, une success story suisse, commercialement depuis 2013.

Liens

Images: © Thomas Stöckli

«Déchets nationaux»: le moyen idéal de se remettre au travail

Pendant presque huit semaines exactement, nous n'avons plus été autorisés à visiter de vraies expositions (photos), nous avons dû accepter des visites virtuelles - ce qui, d'ailleurs, n'était pas entièrement négatif, car de nombreux exposants et galeristes ont proposé un certain nombre d'alternatives originales.

Il est maintenant temps de revenir lentement dans le monde réel des expositions. J'ai un conseil: «Ab­fall na­tio­nal» au Kornhausforum Bern avec des photographies de la photographe thoune Carolina Piasecki et du photographe Peter Keller, qui vit au Tessin. L'exposition est un bon retour à la vie: pas trop grand, assez d'espace sans stress de densité et un sujet qui nous concerne tous. Chaque Suisse laisse environ 350 kg de déchets municipaux par an. Les deux photographes montrent comment ces déchets sont correctement éliminés dans l'espace public - ou pas - en 40 paires d'images.

Et si vous ne vous sentez pas prêt pour le vrai monde des expositions, vous pouvez aussi faire les photos regarder virtuellement.

"Déchets nationaux" au Kornhausforum de Berne, du 15 mai au 25 juillet 2020

Avec l'Olympe à Cuba

Niklaus Messer, membre OK de Photo Münsingen, a découvert les avantages du stylo Olympus pratique à Cuba en 2011. Dans les semaines du confinement, il se souvient de la vie colorée à La Havane. Et apprend les nouvelles fonctions de l'appareil photo dans les didacticiels Olympus

L'Olympus Pen a été mon premier appareil photo sans miroir. Dans le club, je me suis moqué, tout le monde à l'époque comptait sur de gros appareils photo reflex plus lourds avec de grands objectifs lourds. J'étais fier de l'appareil photo pratique au look rétro avec des objectifs légers mais puissants et le viseur d'angle. L'appareil photo m'accompagne à côté d'un appareil photo reflex lors d'un long séjour à Cuba. J'ai parcouru La Havane pendant des heures, presque inaperçu pour capturer la vie colorée des Habaneros. Viva la vida - Viva Cuba! La plupart des gros appareils photo sont restés dans la Casa.

En attendant, je suis passé à l 'OM - DE - M5. La maniabilité et les performances sont restées. La seule chose qui me manque, c'est le viseur d'angle pour la photographie de rue inaperçue. Les moqueurs ont également disparu. De nombreux collègues découvrent depuis longtemps les avantages des petits appareils photo sans miroir.

Olympus propose différents didacticiels vidéo et une réunion virtuelle. Les idées de tournages à domicile sont présentées de manière ludique. Et vous découvrez des fonctions de caméra encore inconnues. À la maison avec Olympus ...

Et si vous avez envie de quelques clichés de Cuba ...

Wolfgang Bernauer: "Mon village grec"

Dans son livre illustré "Mon village grec", Wolfgang Bernauer montre des impressions de la vie de la population rurale grecque qui sont à peine trouvées aujourd'hui.

Le livre est une documentation qui montre la population rurale indigène dans son travail quotidien et lors de rassemblements sociaux. Ce sont des portraits de personnes qui ont beaucoup à dire - et qui en disent long sur ces images.

«Un excellent exemple de documentation historique contemporaine avec des portraits impressionnants qui ont été réalisés avec une photographie exceptionnelle», écrit Urs Tillmanns de fotointern.ch dans son info-bulle.

Pour la description du livre sur fotointern.ch…

Inaccessible

Pendant la crise Corona, les grossistes suisses sont obligés de rendre inaccessibles aux clients toutes les zones dans lesquelles des articles proposés ne desservent pas l'approvisionnement de base immédiat.

Adrian Moser a visité la Migros Marktgasse à Berne, où la majeure partie du sous-sol est bouclée et ne peut pas être entrée jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

A l' Photo Münsingen 2019 Adrian Moser a exposé une coupe transversale de son travail de photographe de presse. Né à Bienne en 1966, il travaille comme photographe professionnel depuis 1994. Depuis 2002, il est photographe en chef et éditeur d'images pour le journal "Der Bund", également indépendant pour des agences, des magazines et des journaux ainsi que commissaire d'exposition et formateur de photographes. Il était récemment avec le Prix ​​de la presse suisse décerné dans la catégorie Vie quotidienne.

https://www.adrianmoser.ch