• Exhibition 2019

    Christian Bobst, The double refugees from Shatila

  • Location

    Kirch­ge­mein­de­haus, Fireplace room

  • Guided tour

    Thursday and Sunday at 14.00 p.m.

The double refugees from Shatila

Shatila is a Palestinian refugee camp in southern Beirut. It was built for a number of approximately 3000 people after the 1949 Arab-Israeli war to house the Palestinian refugees who fled or were displaced during the 1948 Palestinian exodus. Shatila will be 2019 years old in XNUMX and is one of the oldest refugee camps in the world.

There are 12 Palestinian refugee camps in Lebanon with a total of around 500 registered refugees. Lebanon's neighboring country Syria once offered another 000 Palestinian refugees accommodation in 560 camps. Since the beginning of the Syrian civil war, more than 000 Syrian-born Palestinians have fled Syria and become so-called "double refugees". As a result, the number of refugees in Shatila rose from 13 in 110 to an estimated 000 people, who are now crammed into about one square kilometer.

Of all the neighboring countries of Syria, Lebanon has taken in the most people seeking protection in relation to its population. However, they receive neither accommodation nor food from the state. And getting a work permit is practically impossible. As a result, the refugees in Shatila live in great poverty. The camp also allegedly has one of the highest urban populations in the world and is bursting at the seams, a dark, crowded concrete maze with high crime rates and a high number of attacks on women

The refugees in the camp all share one hope: to leave this prison as soon as possible and fly to another country.

Christian Bobst

Reportage photographer Christian Bobst originally studied graphic design. For almost 15 years he worked for advertising agencies such as Wirz, Advico, Young & Rucicam and Jung von Matt in Switzerland and Germany and has received several international awards for his work. In 2010 he started his own business and started working as a freelance documentary photographer. Since then he has realized numerous photo reports and commissions in Europe, Africa, Asia, North and South America. His work has been featured in magazines, daily newspapers and online media such as Stern, The Guardian, NZZ, Die Zeit, The New York Reviews of Books, Huffington Post, LensCulture and Geo. In 2016 he won, among other things, the 2nd prize of the World Press Photo Awards in the Sport Stories category, in 2017 he was awarded the vfg Swiss Photo Award, the Photo Prize of the Canton of Solothurn and in the USA at the NPPA and the PDN Photo Annual. Christian Bobst lives in Zurich and is a member of the laif photo agency in Germany.

www.christianbobstphotography.com

Main sponsors

Sponsors

• Exposition 2019

    Christian Bobst, Les doubles réfugiés de Chatila

  • Lieu

    Kirch­ge­mein­de­haus, Cheminée

  • Visites guidées

    Jeudi et dimanche à 14.00 h

Les doubles réfugiés de Chatila

Shatila est un camp de réfugiés palestiniens au sud de Beyrouth. Il a été construit pour un nombre d'environ 3000 1949 personnes après la guerre israélo-arabe de 1948 pour héberger les réfugiés palestiniens qui ont fui ou ont été déplacés pendant l'exode palestinien de 2019. Shatila aura XNUMX ans en XNUMX et est l'un des plus anciens camps de réfugiés au monde.

Il y a 12 camps de réfugiés palestiniens au Liban avec un total d'environ 500 000 réfugiés enregistrés. La Syrie, pays voisin du Liban, a déjà abrité 560 000 autres réfugiés palestiniens dans 13 camps. Depuis le début de la guerre civile syrienne, plus de 110 000 Palestiniens nés en Syrie ont fui la Syrie et sont devenus des soi-disant «doubles réfugiés». En conséquence, le nombre de réfugiés à Chatila est passé de 10 000 en 2014 à environ 24 000 personnes, qui sont maintenant entassées sur environ un kilomètre carré.

De tous les États voisins de la Syrie, le Liban a accueilli le plus grand nombre de réfugiés par rapport à la population. Cependant, ils ne reçoivent ni logement ni nourriture de l'Etat. Et obtenir un permis de travail est pratiquement impossible. En conséquence, les réfugiés de Chatila vivent dans une grande pauvreté. Le camp aurait également l'une des populations urbaines les plus élevées du monde et éclaterait à tous les niveaux, un labyrinthe de béton sombre et encombré avec des taux de criminalité élevés et un nombre élevé d'attaques contre les femmes.

Les réfugiés du camp partagent tous un même espoir: quitter cette prison le plus tôt possible et s'envoler pour un autre pays.

Christian Bobst

Le photographe de reportage Christian Bobst a d'abord étudié le graphisme. Pendant près de 15 ans, il a travaillé pour des agences de publicité telles que Wirz, Advico, Young & Rucicam et Jung von Matt en Suisse et en Allemagne et a reçu plusieurs prix internationaux pour son travail. En 2010, il a lancé sa propre entreprise et a commencé à travailler comme photographe documentaire indépendant. Depuis, il a réalisé de nombreux reportages photo et commandes en Europe, Afrique, Asie, Amérique du Nord et du Sud. Son travail a été présenté dans des magazines, des quotidiens et des médias en ligne tels que Stern, The Guardian, NZZ, Die Zeit, The New York Reviews of Books, Huffington Post, LensCulture et Geo. En 2016, il a remporté, entre autres, le 2ème prix des World Press Photo Awards dans la catégorie Sport Stories, en 2017, il a reçu le vfg Swiss Photo Award, le Photo Prize du canton de Soleure et aux États-Unis au NPPA et au PDN Photo Annual. Christian Bobst vit à Zurich et est membre de l'agence photo laif en Allemagne.

www.christianbobstphotography.com

Sponsores principaux

Sponsors