• Photo Arena 2019

    Dominic Nahr, Drought Somalia

  • Location

    Kirch­ge­mein­de­haus

  • time

    Hourly xx.10 xx.30 xx.50

Drought Somalia

Somalia, drought in the Horn of Africa. A severe drought hit the Horn of Africa in early 2017. The United Nations has warned that half of Somalia's population, around 6,2 million people, will be affected by the drought. During the last famine in 2011, over 250 people died.

Dominic Nahr

Dominic Nahr was born in Appenzell in 1983, grew up in Hong Kong and moved to Nairobi in 2009. In addition to numerous covers in Time magazine, his pictures have been published by National Geographic, The New Yorker, Stern, Spiegel, Schweizer Illustrierte and NZZ.
In 2017 he moved back to Switzerland, where today, in addition to his international work, he also publishes a weekly audio-photo essay for Republik Magazin. Nahr has won a World Press Photo and a Swiss Press Photo Award. In 2015 he was named Photographer of the Year by the Swiss Photo Academy. He is a Leica Ambassador and a founding member of the MAPS agency.

Main sponsors

Sponsors

• Photo Arena 2019

    Dominic Nahr, Sécheresse en Somalie

  • Lieu

    Kirch­ge­mein­de­haus

  • Horaires

    Toutes les heures xx.10 xx.30 xx.50

Sécheresse en Somalie

Somalie, sécheresse dans la corne de l'Afrique. Une grave sécheresse a frappé la corne de l'Afrique au début de 2017. Les Nations Unies ont averti que la moitié de la population somalienne, soit environ 6,2 millions de personnes, serait affectée par la sécheresse. Lors de la dernière famine de 2011, plus de 250 000 personnes sont mortes.

Dominic Nahr

Dominic Nahr est né à Appenzell en 1983, a grandi à Hong Kong et a déménagé à Nairobi en 2009. En plus de nombreuses couvertures dans le magazine Time, ses photos ont été publiées par National Geographic, The New Yorker, Stern, Spiegel, Schweizer Illustrierte et NZZ.
En 2017, il est retourné en Suisse, où aujourd'hui, en plus de son travail international, il publie également un essai hebdomadaire audio-photo pour Republik Magazin. Nahr a remporté un World Press Photo et un Swiss Press Photo Award. En 2015, il a été nommé photographe de l'année par la Swiss Photo Academy. Il est ambassadeur Leica et membre fondateur de l'agence MAPS.

Sponsores principaux

Sponsors