• photo exhibition laurin schmid

Photo exhibition 2023

Laurin Schmid (DE)
limit of hope

Location

Schloss­weg

Guided tour

Thursday, May 18, 2023, 14.30
Sunday, May 21, 2023, 14.30
In German language

limit of hope

A long and arduous journey already lies behind the people who embark on the risky escape route from Libya across the Mediterranean Sea to Europe. With the help of tugboats, they board the ramshackle boats that leave the beaches at night, crammed together and equipped with nothing but their clothes and a few liters of gasoline, enough to steer the rickety boats into international waters.

Anyone who snags a seat on one of the boats and is not subsequently discovered and brought back by the Libyan Coast Guard, or is shipwrecked and drowns, has a chance of being found and rescued by a passing boat. Fleeing war, poverty and a lack of prospects, the hope of freedom and prosperity outweighs the risk of this life-threatening journey.

The task of the aid organizations is to rescue shipwrecked people and to transport the rescued to a safe haven - a place where they are to be protected from persecution and discrimination and where their human rights are to be protected.

Laurin's images show the people, their emotions and the sensitive moments during the rescue operations, the crossing and the arrival in Italy.

At the "border of hope" courage meets fear, joy meets sorrow, life meets death. It means departure or end.

Laurin Schmid (DE)

Laurin Schmid portrait

Laurin Schmid has been working as a photojournalist for publishers, agencies, NGOs, ministries and companies for 15 years. He was born in Germany in 1983, lives in Berlin and his focus is on reportage and documentary photography.

In addition to his daily work as a press and PR photographer, Laurin deals with political, societal and social issues and works on personal projects for which he has traveled to the Mediterranean, North Korea, Iraq and the countries of the former Yugoslavia travelled. His photos are shown worldwide in newspapers and magazines, books and illustrated books as well as in exhibitions. He was nominated for the 2020 Sony World Photography Awards for his photo series "Relics of a Utopia".

His commitment to sea rescue in the central Mediterranean shaped Laurin professionally and personally. As part of the team from SOS Mediterranée and Doctors Without Borders, his tasks included not only the photographic documentation of the missions but also the care of the rescued.

In precarious emergency situations, everyone involved reaches the limits of their mental and physical resilience. In such situations, he put his camera aside and lent a hand.

With his pictures, Laurin wants to give the refugees a face and call on the public to show solidarity and humanity.

Main sponsors

bookfactory
photo video zumstein
nikon

Sponsors

Resident community of Münsingen
fotoclub münsingen
fotointern.ch
swisslos cultural funding for the canton of Bern

• exposition photo laurin schmid

Exposition photo 2023

Laurin Schmid (DE)
limite d'espoir

Lieu

Schloss­weg

Visites guidées

Jeudi 18 mai 2023, 14.30 h
Dimanche 21 mai 2023, 14.30 h
En langue allemande

limite d'espoir

Un voyage long et ardu attend déjà les personnes qui s'engagent sur la route d'évasion risquée de la Libye à travers la mer Méditerranée vers l'Europe. A l'aide de remorqueurs, ils montent à bord des bateaux délabrés qui quittent les plages la nuit, entassés et équipés uniquement de leurs vêtements et de quelques litres d'essence, de quoi diriger les bateaux branlants dans les eaux internationales.

Quiconque accroche un siège sur l'un des bateaux et n'est pas repéré et ramené par la suite par les garde-côtes libyens, ou fait naufrage et se noie, a une chance d'être retrouvé et secouru par un bateau qui passe. Fuyant la guerre, la pauvreté et le manque de perspectives, l'espoir de liberté et de prospérité l'emporte sur le risque de ce voyage qui met sa vie en danger.

La tâche des organisations d'aide est de secourir les naufragés et de transporter les rescapés vers un lieu sûr - un endroit où ils doivent être protégés contre la persécution et la discrimination et où leurs droits humains doivent être protégés.

Les images de Laurin montrent les gens, leurs émotions et les moments sensibles lors des opérations de sauvetage, de la traversée et de l'arrivée en Italie.

A la "frontière de l'espoir", le courage rencontre la peur, la joie rencontre le chagrin, la vie rencontre la mort. Cela signifie départ ou fin.

Laurin Schmid (DE)

portrait de laurin schmid

Laurin Schmid travaille comme photojournaliste pour des éditeurs, des agences, des ONG, des ministères et des entreprises depuis 15 ans. Il est né en Allemagne en 1983, vit à Berlin et se concentre sur le reportage et la photographie documentaire.

En plus de son travail quotidien de photographe de presse et de relations publiques, Laurin traite de questions politiques, sociétales et sociales et travaille sur des projets personnels pour lesquels il a voyagé en Méditerranée, en Corée du Nord, en Irak et dans les pays de l'ex-Yougoslavie parcourus. Ses photos sont diffusées dans le monde entier dans des journaux et des magazines, des livres et des livres illustrés ainsi que dans des expositions. Il a été nominé aux Sony World Photography Awards 2020 pour sa série de photos "Relics of a Utopia".

Son engagement dans le sauvetage en mer en Méditerranée centrale a façonné Laurin professionnellement et personnellement. Au sein de l'équipe de SOS Méditerranée et de Médecins Sans Frontières, ses missions comprenaient non seulement la documentation photographique des missions mais aussi la prise en charge des rescapés.

Dans les situations d'urgence précaires, toutes les personnes impliquées atteignent les limites de leur résilience mentale et physique. Dans de telles situations, il a mis son appareil photo de côté et a prêté main forte.

Avec ses images, Laurin veut donner un visage aux réfugiés et appeler le public à faire preuve de solidarité et d'humanité.

Sponsores principaux

fabrique de livres
photo vidéo zumstein
nikon

Sponsors

Communauté d'habitants de Münsingen
fotoclub münsingen
fotointern.ch
Fonds culturel swisslos pour le canton de Berne