• photo exhibition thomas kern

Lecture 2022

Thomas Kern
Encountering strangers – je te regarde et tu dis
The creation of a series of portraits

Town

Füür­wehr­huus

time

Thursday, 11.00

In German language

Encountering strangers – je te regarde et tu dis
The creation of a series of portraits

With «je te regarde et tu dis», Photo Münsingen shows an exhibition by the photographer Thomas Kern, the winner of the 12th edition of the photographic investigation, which was advertised by the cultural office of the canton of Fribourg. The project of the Aargau photographer, two-time winner of the World Press Awards, was to meet the residents of the canton. Spread over more than a year, around 60 black and white portraits were created. The portraits radiate a serenity that stimulates reflection on human encounters and the feeling of a shared moment.

Thomas Kern's pictures are preserved fragments of encounters. They represent a unique moment, that of mutual recognition between the artist and the person being photographed. The presence of a body in the room, the silent gaze, the slow approach of the analog camera create the intensity that the artist is looking for. The moment when the captured image reflects a horizontal exchange. Although the artist traveled through the canton to meet the Freiburg population, his works defy the formation of identity references between geography and the inhabitants. Thomas Kern's portraits act like a mirror, creating a universal image of the person in the intimacy of the encounter.

Thomas Kern

thomas kern portrait

is a documentary photographer and artist living in Switzerland.

Thomas Kern was born in Switzerland in 1965. He completed his training as a photographer in Zurich and began working as a photo journalist in 1989. In 1990 he co-founded the Swiss photo agency Lookat Photos. A central theme of his work is the effects of wars and conflicts on daily life, for example in Northern Ireland, Kurdistan, the former Yugoslavia and Haiti. Thomas Kern has received the World Press Award twice and has received several Swiss national grants. His work has been exhibited many times and is represented in various collections.

Main sponsors

nikon
zumstein photo video photovision

Sponsors

muensingen
fotointern.ch
cultural promotion of the canton of bern

• Fotoausstellung Thomas Kern

Vor­trag 2022

Tho­mas Kern
Be­geg­nung mit Un­be­kann­ten – je te re­gar­de et tu dis
Das Ent­ste­hen ei­ner Porträtserie

Ort

Füür­wehr­huus

Zeit

Don­ners­tag, 11.00 Uhr

In deut­scher Sprache

Be­geg­nung mit Un­be­kann­ten – je te re­gar­de et tu dis
Das Ent­ste­hen ei­ner Porträtserie

Die Pho­to Münsin­gen zeigt mit «je te re­gar­de et tu dis» eine Aus­stel­lung des Fo­to­gra­fen Tho­mas Kern, dem Ge­win­ner der 12. Aus­ga­be der Fo­to­gra­fi­schen Er­mitt­lung, die vom Kul­tur­amt des Kan­tons Frei­burg aus­ge­schrie­ben wur­de. Das Pro­jekt des Aar­gau­er Fo­to­gra­fen, zwei­ma­li­ger Ge­win­ner des World Press Awards, be­stand dar­in die Ein­woh­ne­rin­nen und Ein­woh­ner des Kan­tons zu tref­fen. Ver­teilt über mehr als ei­nem Jahr ent­stan­den so etwa 60 Schwarz-Weiss-Por­träts. Die Por­traits strah­len eine Ge­las­sen­heit aus, die das Nach­den­ken über mensch­li­che Be­geg­nun­gen und das Ge­fühl ei­nes ge­mein­sa­men Au­gen­blicks anregen.

Die Bil­der von Tho­mas Kern sind die er­hal­te­nen Frag­men­te von Be­geg­nun­gen. Sie stel­len ei­nen ein­ma­li­gen Mo­ment dar, je­nen der ge­gen­sei­ti­gen An­er­ken­nung zwi­schen dem Künst­ler und der fo­to­gra­fier­ten Per­son. Die An­we­sen­heit ei­nes Kör­pers im Raum, der stum­me Blick, die lang­sa­me An­nä­he­rung der ana­lo­gen Ka­me­ra er­zeu­gen jene In­ten­si­tät, die der Künst­ler sucht. Den Au­gen­blick, in dem das auf­ge­nom­me­ne Bild ei­nen ho­ri­zon­ta­len Aus­tausch wi­der­spie­gelt. Ob­schon der Künst­ler durch den Kan­ton ge­reist ist, um die Frei­bur­ger Be­völ­ke­rung zu tref­fen, ent­zie­hen sich sei­ne Ar­bei­ten der Bil­dung von Iden­ti­täts­be­zü­gen zwi­schen der Geo­gra­fie und den Ein­woh­nern. Die Por­traits von Tho­mas Kern wir­ken wie ein Spie­gel, die in der In­ti­mi­tät der Be­geg­nung ein uni­ver­sel­les Bild der Per­son hervorbringen.

Tho­mas Kern

Thomas Kern Portrait

ist ein Do­ku­men­tar­fo­to­graf und Künst­ler, der in der Schweiz lebt.

Tho­mas Kern wur­de 1965 in der Schweiz ge­bo­ren. Er ab­sol­vier­te eine Aus­bil­dung zum Fo­to­gra­fen in Zü­rich und be­gann 1989 als Fo­to­jour­na­list zu ar­bei­ten. Er war 1990 Mit­be­grün­der der Schwei­zer Fo­to­agen­tur Loo­kat Pho­tos. Ein zen­tra­les The­ma sei­ner Ar­beit sind die Aus­wir­kun­gen von Krie­gen und Kon­flik­ten auf das täg­li­che Le­ben, zum Bei­spiel in Nord­ir­land, Kur­di­stan, dem ehe­ma­li­gen Ju­go­sla­wi­en und Hai­ti. Tho­mas Kern wur­de zwei­mal mit dem World Press Award aus­ge­zeich­net und er­hielt meh­re­re Schwei­zer Na­tio­nal­sti­pen­di­en. Sei­ne Ar­bei­ten wur­den viel­fach aus­ge­stellt und sind in ver­schie­de­nen Samm­lun­gen vertreten.

Haupt­spon­so­ren

Nikon
Zumstein Foto Video PHOTOVISION

Spon­so­ren

Münsingen
fotointern.ch
Kulturförderung Kanton Bern