• photo exhibition charles brooks

Photo exhibition 2024

Charles Brooks
Architecture in Music

Location

Schloss­weg

Guided tour

Saturday, May 11, 2024, 13.30
In German (the photographer is not present)

Architecture in Music

Stunning photos reveal the hidden details inside musical instruments. Photographer Charles Brooks reveals the beauty and complexity of these invisible spaces using specialized lenses and complex imaging techniques. Each photo is a mix of hundreds of individual images. The unparalleled sharpness and attention to detail makes these rooms appear as vast rooms where the makers' tool marks, repairs made over the centuries and hidden architecture are revealed.

Charles Brooks selects rare instruments with fascinating histories: a cello that was once run over by a train, a didgeridoo that was hollowed out by termites, an exquisite Fazioli grand piano that was handcrafted from 11000 individual parts. Each instrument is photographed hundreds of times with increasingly larger focal lengths. These recordings are then painstakingly put together into a single image. The clarity and carefully chosen perspectives make the viewer believe that the space is much larger than it actually is. A 240-year-old cello looks like the interior of an ancient ship, a hundred-year-old saxophone becomes a gaping tunnel of green and gold, the keys of a piano become a monolithic temple.

Charles Brooks

portrait charles brooks

A cellist since childhood, Charles had a career with some of the world's largest orchestras before turning full-time to photography in 2016. He was principal cellist with the Shenzhen & Guiyang Symphonies (China), the Orquestra de Camara de Valdivia (Chile) and spent three years with the Sao Paulo Symphony Orchestra in Brazil. As a Lumix Ambassador, he now lives in Auckland, New Zealand, where he spends his time as a freelance photographer and indulges in his other passion, astrophotography.

www.architectureinmusic.com

Main sponsors

bookfactory
photo video zumstein
nikon

Sponsors

Resident community of Münsingen
fotoclub münsingen
fotointern.ch
swisslos cultural funding for the canton of Bern

• fotoausstellung charles brooks

Fo­to­aus­stel­lung 2024

Charles Brooks
Ar­chi­tec­tu­re in Music

Ort

Schloss­weg

Füh­run­gen

Don­ners­tag, 9. Mai 2024, 15.30 Uhr
Sams­tag, 11. Mai 2024, 14.00 Uhr

In eng­li­scher Spra­che mit Dol­met­scher in deut­scher Sprache

Ar­chi­tec­tu­re in Music

Be­ein­dru­cken­de Fo­tos ent­hül­len die ver­bor­ge­nen De­tails im In­ne­ren von Mu­sik­in­stru­men­ten. Der Fo­to­graf Charles Brooks ent­hüllt die Schön­heit und Kom­ple­xi­tät die­ser un­sicht­ba­ren Räu­me mit­hil­fe spe­zi­el­ler Ob­jek­ti­ve und kom­ple­xer Bild­ge­bungs­ver­fah­ren. Je­des Foto ist eine Mi­schung aus Hun­der­ten von Ein­zel­bil­dern. Die bei­spiel­lo­se Schär­fe und De­tail­ge­nau­ig­keit lässt die­se Räu­me als rie­si­ge Zim­mer er­schei­nen, in de­nen die Werk­zeug­spu­ren der Her­stel­ler, die im Lau­fe der Jahr­hun­der­te durch­ge­führ­ten Re­pa­ra­tu­ren und die ver­bor­ge­ne Ar­chi­tek­tur sicht­bar werden.

Charles Brooks wählt sel­te­ne In­stru­men­te mit fas­zi­nie­ren­der Ge­schich­te aus: Ein Cel­lo, das einst von ei­nem Zug über­fah­ren wur­de, ein Did­ge­ri­doo, das von Ter­mi­ten aus­ge­höhlt wur­de, ein ex­qui­si­ter Fa­zio­li-Flü­gel, der in Hand­ar­beit aus 11000 Ein­zel­tei­len ge­fer­tigt wur­de. Je­des In­stru­ment wird hun­der­te Male mit im­mer grö­ße­rer Brenn­wei­te fo­to­gra­fiert. Die­se Auf­nah­men wer­den dann in mü­he­vol­ler Klein­ar­beit zu ei­nem ein­zi­gen Bild zu­sam­men­ge­fügt. Die Klar­heit und die sorg­fäl­tig ge­wähl­ten Per­spek­ti­ven gau­keln dem Be­trach­ter vor, der Raum sei viel grö­ßer als in Wirk­lich­keit. Ein 240 Jah­re al­tes Cel­lo sieht aus wie das In­ne­re ei­nes an­ti­ken Schif­fes, ein hun­dert Jah­re al­tes Sa­xo­phon wird zu ei­nem klaf­fen­den Tun­nel aus Grün und Gold, die Tas­ten ei­nes Kla­viers wer­den zu ei­nem mo­no­li­thi­schen Tempel.

Charles Brooks

portrait charles brooks

Charles ist seit sei­ner Kind­heit Cel­list und hat­te eine Kar­rie­re bei ei­ni­gen der gröss­ten Or­ches­ter der Welt, be­vor er sich 2016 ganz der Fo­to­gra­fie zu­wand­te. Er war So­lo­cel­list bei den Shen­zhen & Gui­yang Sym­pho­nies (Chi­na), dem Or­ques­tra de Ca­ma­ra de Val­di­via (Chi­le) und ver­brach­te drei Jah­re beim Sao Pau­lo Sym­pho­ny Or­ches­ter in Bra­si­li­en. Als Lu­mix-Bot­schaf­ter lebt er jetzt in Auck­land, Neu­see­land, wo er sei­ne Zeit als frei­be­ruf­li­cher Fo­to­graf ver­bringt und sei­ner an­de­ren Lei­den­schaft, der As­tro­fo­to­gra­fie, frönt.

www.architectureinmusic.com

Haupt­spon­so­ren

bookfactory
foto video zumstein
nikon

Spon­so­ren

einwohnergemeinde münsingen
fotoclub münsingen
fotointern.ch
swisslos kulturförderung kanton bern