• Photo exhibition Gerardo Garciacano

Photo exhibition 2024

Gerardo Garciacano
Bodmi

Location

Blu­men­haus Aussenwand

Guided tour

Friday, May 10, 2024, 14.00
Saturday, May 11, 2024, 15.00

In German language

Bodmi

The Bodmi series is part of the wider Street Portraits project, which explores clothing choices while examining both our individual and collective identities. It delves into how the ancient ritual of dressing up reflects our deep-rooted need to belong to a social group. The inspiration for this series came after photographing bathers at Marzili, where I realized that the same social signals were present in our street clothes, as in swim trunks and bikinis.

The Bodmi portraits represent the other side of the equation, documenting skiers in full gear. During my conversations with locals in Grindelwald, I was fascinated to learn that they could distinguish skiers from Bern and Zurich based solely on their clothing and equipment. Even to the untrained eye, the differences in color palette and jacket fit between snowboarders and skiers are obvious, revealing different philosophies on life.

Enjoy the series and create your own narratives about who these fully equipped snow warriors might be, whether it's their first day on the slopes or whether they've been there every year of their lives.

Gerardo Garciacano

Portrait Gerardo Garciacano

Mein Name ist Gerardo Garciacano. I grew up in the Mexican border town of Nuevo Laredo and I have been passionate about photography for fifteen years, but this is my main job Singing operas. After two years of self-study, I started as Portrait and stage photographer to work and photographed mainly opera and theater performances, as well as artists. I have also worked as a wedding photographer in France, Germany and Switzerland, which was essential training for me in the craft of photography.

Later I ventured into more artistic and documentary formats and explored social and ethnic contexts. In 2018 I started this "Street Portraits Project" in Chiapas and have since continued in four other countries. In this project I photograph people on the street who voluntarily allow themselves to be portrayed in a formal studio-like setting. I'm interested in the detailed documentation of what people in different countries and on certain occasions choose to wear (festivals, nightclubs, swimming pools, ski resorts) and how this is instinctively perceived. I also explore how a formal lighting setup influences the flow and spontaneity of street portraits. The inspiration for the "Street-Portrait Series" undoubtedly comes from Richard Avedon Work "In The American West" from 1978 and also from the Dutch photographer's "Exactitudes" project Ari Versluis and stylist Ellie Uyttenbroek.

My work has been exhibited in the United States, Bern and Geneva, and the major portrait exhibition "Marzili Portraits" will be held in the fall of 2024 Marzilibad in Bern from the Fondation NOW ART organized.

www.street-portraits.com

Main sponsors

bookfactory
photo video zumstein
nikon

Sponsors

Resident community of Münsingen
fotoclub münsingen
fotointern.ch
swisslos cultural funding for the canton of Bern

• fotoausstellung gerardo garciacano

Fo­to­aus­stel­lung 2024

Ge­rar­do Garciacano
Bodmi

Ort

Blu­men­haus Aussenwand

Füh­run­gen

Frei­tag, 10. Mai 2024, 14.00 Uhr
Sams­tag, 11. Mai 2024, 15.00 Uhr

In deut­scher Sprache

Bod­mi

Die Bod­mi-Se­rie ist Teil des um­fas­sen­de­ren Street-Por­traits-Pro­jekts, das Klei­dungs­wahl er­forscht und da­bei so­wohl un­se­re in­di­vi­du­el­len als auch kol­lek­ti­ven Iden­ti­tä­ten un­ter­sucht. Es taucht ein in die Fra­ge, wie das alte Ri­tu­al des Ver­klei­dens un­se­ren tief ver­wur­zel­ten Be­darf wi­der­spie­gelt, zu ei­ner so­zia­len Grup­pe zu ge­hö­ren. Die In­spi­ra­ti­on für die­se Se­rie kam nach dem Fo­to­gra­fie­ren von Ba­de­gäs­ten im Mar­zi­li, wo ich fest­stell­te, dass die­sel­ben so­zia­len Si­gna­le in un­se­rer Stra­ßen­klei­dung vor­han­den wa­ren, wie in Ba­de­ho­sen und Bikinis.

Die Bod­mi-Por­traits re­prä­sen­tie­ren die an­de­re Sei­te der Glei­chung und do­ku­men­tie­ren Ski­fah­rer in vol­ler Aus­rüs­tung. Wäh­rend mei­ner Ge­sprä­che mit Ein­hei­mi­schen in Grin­del­wald war ich fas­zi­niert zu er­fah­ren, dass sie Ski­fah­rer aus Bern und Zü­rich al­lein an­hand ih­rer Klei­dung und Aus­rüs­tung un­ter­schei­den konn­ten. Selbst für das un­trai­nier­te Auge sind die Un­ter­schie­de in der Farb­pa­let­te und der Pass­form der Ja­cke zwi­schen Snow­boar­dern und Ski­fah­rern of­fen­sicht­lich und ent­hül­len un­ter­schied­li­che Lebensphilosophien.

Ge­nie­ßen Sie die Se­rie und er­schaf­fen Sie Ihre ei­ge­nen Er­zäh­lun­gen dar­über, wer die­se voll aus­ge­rüs­te­ten Schnee­krie­ger sein könn­ten, sei es ihr ers­ter Tag auf der Pis­te oder ob sie dort je­des Jahr ih­res Le­bens waren.

Ge­rar­do Garciacano

portrait gerardo garciacano

Mein Name ist Ge­rar­do Gar­cia­ca­no. Ich bin in der me­xi­ka­ni­schen Grenz­stadt Nue­vo Lare­do auf­ge­wach­sen und ich fo­to­gra­fie­re lei­den­schaft­lich ger­ne seit fünf­zehn Jah­ren, aber mein Haupt­be­ruf ist das Sin­gen von Opern. Nach zwei Jah­ren Selbst­stu­di­um be­gann ich als Por­trät- und Büh­nen­fo­to­graf zu ar­bei­ten und fo­to­gra­fier­te haupt­säch­lich Opern- und Thea­ter­auf­füh­run­gen, so­wie Künst­ler. Ich habe auch als Hoch­zeits­fo­to­graf in Frank­reich, Deutsch­land und der Schweiz ge­ar­bei­tet, was für mich ein we­sent­li­ches Trai­ning im Fo­to­gra­fie­hand­werk war.

Spä­ter habe ich mich an künst­le­ri­sche­re und do­ku­men­ta­ri­sche For­ma­te ge­wagt und so­zia­le und eth­ni­sche Zu­sam­men­hän­ge er­forscht. Im Jahr 2018 star­te­te ich das "Street-Por­traits-Pro­jekt" in Chia­pas und habe es seit­dem in vier an­de­ren Län­dern fort­ge­setzt. In die­sem Pro­jekt fo­to­gra­fie­re ich Men­schen auf der Stra­ße, die sich frei­wil­lig in ei­nem for­mel­len stu­dio­ähn­li­chen Set­ting por­trä­tie­ren las­sen. Mich in­ter­es­siert die de­tail­lier­te Do­ku­men­ta­ti­on des­sen, was Men­schen in ver­schie­de­nen Län­dern und zu be­stimm­ten An­läs­sen wäh­len, zu tra­gen (Fes­ti­vals, Nacht­clubs, Schwimm­bä­der, Ski­ge­bie­te) und wie das in­stink­tiv wahr­ge­nom­men wird. Ich er­for­sche auch, wie eine for­mel­le Be­leuch­tungs­ein­rich­tung den Fluss und die Spon­ta­nei­tät von Stra­ßen­por­träts be­ein­flusst. Die In­spi­ra­ti­on für die "Street-Por­trait Se­ries" stammt zwei­fel­los von Ri­chard Ave­dons Ar­beit "In The Ame­ri­can West" aus dem Jahr 1978 und auch vom Pro­jekt "Exacti­tu­des" des nie­der­län­di­schen Fo­to­gra­fen Ari Vers­lu­is und Sty­lis­tin El­lie Uyt­ten­br­oek.

Mei­ne Ar­beit wur­de in den Ver­ei­nig­ten Staa­ten, Bern und Genf aus­ge­stellt, und die gro­ße Por­trät­aus­stel­lung "Mar­zi­li Por­traits" wird im Herbst 2024 im Mar­zi­li­bad in Bern von der Fon­da­ti­on JETZT KUNST veranstaltet.

www.street-portraits.com

Haupt­spon­so­ren

bookfactory
foto video zumstein
nikon

Spon­so­ren

einwohnergemeinde münsingen
fotoclub münsingen
fotointern.ch
swisslos kulturförderung kanton bern