• Exhibition 2017

    René Groebli, NUDES

  • Location

    Schloss

  • Guided tour

    Guides:
    Thursday and Sunday at 14.30 p.m.

    Book signing:
    Thursday and Sunday at 15.30 p.m.

NUDES

René Groebli used experimental photography at a young age to capture moods and movements. He was ahead of his time and did not care about trends. His works, especially the artistic nudes, are more reminiscent of painting. After Paris and New York, the NUDES exhibition will be shown in Switzerland for the first time. The photos were taken over a period of more than fifty years and show the photographer's unique, clearly recognizable signature. With their coarse grain, the images convey a nostalgic, playful but timeless elegance.

Who better to express this than René Groebli.

“The feminine has always fascinated me. The beauty of the forms, the charisma, the sensuality ...
I have often tried to express my admiration for feminine grace in pictures and hope that the viewer of my photos can share the joy of these visually enchanting moments with me. "

René Groebli

Although he actually wanted to go to film, he began an apprenticeship as a photographer with Theo Vonow in Zurich in 1943.

1944–45 six months in Hans Finsler's photography class at the Zurich School of Applied Arts, first experimental photographs to capture moods and movement. From 1946 apprenticeship as a documentary cameraman at Central-Film and Gloria Film in Zurich (diploma 1948), but continues to work intensively with photography. Arouses great attention with his first work, the photo essay Magic of the Rails (1949).

1949–51 press and advertising photographer, in between 1 year as picture editor for Züri-Woche. 1951 marriage to Rita Dürmüller, who supported him artistically throughout his life. 1951–53 photo reporter for the Black Star agency, London; travels in the Middle East and Africa and publishes in Picture Post, Illustrated, Time-Life, Die Woche, among others. From 1953 concentration on color photography, opening of his own studio after first orders from the pharmaceutical industry. Experiments with the dye transfer process and is honored in 1957 by the US Color Annual as "Master of Color". Founds Turnus Film (cinema and TV spots) together with HP Roth in 1959, wins the Palme d'Or (1963) for VW commercials in Cannes.

Until 1980 mainly color photography for international advertising campaigns, annual reports, anniversary books and the like for companies in Europe and the USA. Creates audio and multivision shows, for which he receives worldwide recognition. In 1965 and 1971 published two groundbreaking books on the creative and communicative possibilities of modern color photography.

In addition, he continues his free artistic work and publishes the much-acclaimed photo essay Das Auge der Liebe in 1954. Already in 1953 he was accepted as the youngest member of the College of Swiss Photographers (with Jakob Tuggener and Gotthard Schuh). 1977 rediscovered the creative potential of black and white photography, photographed in New York, Ireland and the south of France.

Gives up advertising photography in 1981, sells his studio and moves into a traditional stone house (Borie) in southern France. Since 1990 he has been restoring and reworking previous black and white negatives, making new barite prints and using some historical techniques. In 1999 he exchanged his borie with an old farmhouse in the Vosges, in whose attic he devoted himself intensively to nude photography in 2001/2002. To date, countless solo and group exhibitions worldwide, Photo15 Lifetime Award in Zurich.

• Ausstellung 2017

    René Groebli, NUDES

  • Ort

    Schloss

  • Führungen

    Führungen:
    Do, 25. Mai  + So, 28. Mai 2017,
    je 14.30 Uhr

    Buchsignierung:
    Do, 25. Mai + So, 28. Mai 2017,
    je 15.30 Uhr

NUDES

René Groebli nutzte die experimentelle Fotografie schon in jungen Jahren um Stimmungen und Bewegungen festzuhalten. Damit war er seiner Zeit voraus und kümmerte sich nicht um Trends. Seine Arbeiten, insbesondere die kunstvollen Aktaufnahmen, erinnern eher an Malerei. Die Ausstellung NUDES wird nach Paris und New York erstmals in der Schweiz gezeigt. Die Aufnahmen sind in einem Zeitraum von über fünfzig Jahren entstanden und weisen eine eigenständige, klar erkennbare Handschrift des Fotografen auf. Die Bilder vermitteln mit der Grobkörnigkeit eine nostalgische, verspielte aber zeitlose Eleganz.

Wer könnte dies besser ausdrücken als René Groebli.

„Das Weibliche hat mich seit je fasziniert. Die Schönheit der Formen, die Ausstrahlung, die Sinnlichkeit…
So habe ich oft versucht, meine Bewunderung für weibliche Anmut in Bildern auszudrücken und hoffe, dass der Betrachter meiner Fotos die Freude an diesen visuell bezaubernden Momenten mit mir teilen kann.“

René Groebli

Obwohl er eigentlich zum Film will, beginnt er 1943 eine Fotografenlehre bei Theo Vonow in Zürich.

1944–45 sechs Monate in der Fotoklasse von Hans Finsler an der Kunstgewerbeschule Zürich, erste experimentelle Fotografien, um Stimmungen und Bewegung festzuhalten. Ab 1946 Lehre als Dokumentarfilm-Kameramann bei Central-Film und Gloria Film in Zürich (Diplom 1948), beschäftigt sich aber weiterhin intensiv mit Fotografie. Erweckt mit seinem Erstlingswerk, dem Fotoessay Magie der Schiene (1949), grosse Aufmerksamkeit.

1949–51 Presse- und Werbefotograf, dazwischen 1 Jahr als Bildredaktor der Züri-Woche. 1951 Heirat mit Rita Dürmüller, die ihn künstlerisch zeitlebens  unterstützt. 1951–53 Fotoreporter für die Agentur Black Star, London; reist im Nahen Osten und Afrika und publiziert u.a. in Picture Post, Illustrated, Time-Life, Die Woche. Ab 1953 Konzentration auf die Farbfotografie, nach ersten Aufträgen der Pharma-Industrie Eröffnung eines eigenen Studios. Experimentiert mit dem Dye-Transfer-Verfahren und wird 1957 von  U.S. Color Annual als “Master of Color” gewürdigt. Gründet 1959 zusammen mit H. P. Roth die Turnus Film (Kino- und Fernsehspots), gewinnt für VW-Werbefilme in Cannes die Palme d’Or (1963).

Bis 1980 hauptsächlich Farbfotografie für internationale Werbekampagnen, Jahresberichte, Jubiläumsbücher und dergl. von Unternehmen in Europa und USA. Gestaltet Tonbild- und Multivisions-Schauen, wofür er weltweite Anerkennung erhält. Publiziert 1965 und 1971 zwei wegweisende Bücher über die kreativen und kommunikativen Möglichkeiten der modernen Farbfotografie.

Treibt daneben auch seine freie künstlerische Arbeit weiter und publiziert 1954 den viel beachteten Fotoessay Das Auge der Liebe. Wird bereits 1953 als jüngstes Mitglied ins Kollegium Schweizerischer Photographen (u.a. mit Jakob Tuggener und Gotthard Schuh) aufgenommen. Entdeckt 1977 neu das kreative Potenzial der Schwarzweiss-Fotografie, fotografiert in New York, Irland und Südfrankreich.

Gibt 1981 die Werbefotografie auf, verkauft sein Studio und zieht in ein traditionelles Steinhaus (Borie) in Südfrankreich. Ab 1990 restauriert und überarbeitet er frühere Schwarzweiss-Negative, macht neue Barytabzüge und nutzt zum Teil historische Techniken. 1999 tauscht er seine Borie mit einem alten Bauernhaus in den Vogesen, in dessen Dachstock er sich 2001/2002 intensiv der Aktfotografie widmet. Bis heute unzählige Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen weltweit, Lifetime Award der Photo15 in Zürich.

Hauptsponsoren

Sponsoren